Startupreneur

For the First Time Entrepreneur

The End Game

Posted by Vijay on February 23, 2007

Though things NEVER happen as planned in business, it is good to at least have an “end game” in mind.

The question to ask yourself is “Why am I doing this?”. Your answer will give you the end game you are looking for and allows you to plan better.

Typical “End Games” can be:

1. I want to build a company, sell it and retire.

2. I want to build a company that will succeed like Infosys and linger for generations.

3. I want to build a business that will give me enough money to lead a comfortable life.

It can be anything… but you need one.

Without this you will be like a rudderless ship.

3 Responses to “The End Game”

  1. Veena said

    Short & sweet.. Absoultely!

    This end game infact applies to everything we do. (not those routine eat sleep one okay ;-))

  2. some body said

    reminds me of a quote from my ex-co-worker: “how you start does not matter. how you finish does.”

    this probably applies to each and every walk of life, and to life itself! those who are born with a silver spoon in their mouth are more likely to waste away their life. only when you work hard to get something will you understand its worth. if you get something easily, it is difficult to value it.

    – s.b.

  3. Munim said

    Personally, I am thinking of owning a couple of assets which don’t require much of my attention, and earn enough cash for me to live comfortably.
    Infact, I am planning to retire very early(inshallah!). There is no point in working till you are 55 years old and then retiring. You will be too old to enjoy life!

Leave a Reply

 
